Adrian Underhill’s interactive phonemic charts

For those of you who do not know about this resource—or who would like to be reminded of its utility, here are Adrian Underhill’s interactive phonemic charts:

prəˌnʌnsɪˈeɪʃən ɪz kreɪt. maɪ frɛnd ɪz kriːk. aɪ hæv ə smɔːl dɒk.

Wait a minute… did I just write that pronunciation is a slatted wooden case? That my friend is a small stream? And I forgot to type “a” before both of those nouns? Did I mention that I have a small place to tie up my boat?!

Macmillan English has a “Pronunciation Skills with Adrian Underhill” feature on their learning resources website.

This entry was posted in Pronunciation/Listening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

